America’s Cup Hall of Fame to induct Larry Ellison, Dirk Kramers and Dawn Riley

Wednesday, May 18, 2022

View larger +


The America’s Cup Hall of Fame will induct Larry Ellison, Dirk Kramers and Dawn Riley into the Class of 2022. They will be inducted October 14 at the 2022 America’s Cup Hall of Fame Induction Gala at the New York Yacht Club in New York City .

The Hall of Fame is organized by the Herreshoff Marine Museum.

“These people have had a profound impact on the America’s Cup,” said Steve Tsuchiya, Chairman of the America’s Cup Hall of Fame Selection Committee. “Cup legends don’t happen overnight. The Class of 2022 inductees have collected work spanning many years and many America’s Cup matches. We are thrilled to welcome them to the Hall of Fame! »


The America’s Cup Hall of Fame has inducted more than ninety people since its founding in 1992. Eligible nominees include crew members, designers, builders, union leaders, supporters, columnists and other people of merit. Each nominee is judged on the basis of their exceptional ability, international recognition, character, performance and contributions to the sport. The members of the selection committee are familiar with the history and traditions of the America’s Cup and are committed to the integrity of the Hall of Fame.

“The America’s Cup is known for its constant evolution, and this group of inductees is truly emblematic of that dynamic,” said President and Executive Director of the America’s Cup Hall of Fame, Bill Lynn. I want to thank the selection committee for their hard work and for giving us three amazing new Hall of Famers.

America’s Cup Hall of Fame Inductees, Class of 2022

Lawrence Joseph “Larry” Ellison (USA) (born 1944)

Larry Ellison’s ORACLE Team USA won the America’s Cup in Valencia as challengers in 2010 and successfully defended it in San Francisco in 2013. Those two matches were some of the most notable in recent times. . The 33rd match at Valencia in 2010 was a so-called “Deed of Gift Match” featuring two extraordinary yachts, multihulls built to the maximum limit of 90ft LWL allowed by the act. USA 17, Ellison’s 113′ trimaran, beat Alinghi’s huge catamaran in the match 2-0. USA 17 was powered by a sail-wing over 220 feet tall, larger than the wing of a Boeing 747 or Airbus A380.

Ellison stayed with multihulls for the 2013 defense in San Francisco Bay. Led by Jimmy Spithill, ORACLE Team USA made a stunning comeback, winning eight straight races after trailing 8-1 in the first-to-nine win streak.

Game 34 in San Francisco transformed the America’s Cup in several important ways. Foiled multihulls were introduced, races were brought ashore and races were reduced from 90 minutes to 30. Another important legacy of this match was the creation of graphics that could be applied to the live broadcast showing the course limits, wind direction and strength, and a gain and loss advantage line to enhance the understanding of non-sailing enthusiasts.

Ellison began his America’s Cup career with the 2003 Louis Vuitton Cup Challenger Trials in Auckland, then competed in the 2007 Louis Vuitton Cup in Valencia. His streak of five America’s Cup campaigns ended in 2017 when the Kiwis avenged their 2013 loss to Bermuda. An avid sports fan, Ellison is also the owner of the Indian Wells tennis tournament, often referred to as the Fifth Major, and the SailGP series raced on 50ft foiling catamarans.

Dirk Kramers (NED/USA) (born in 1952)

Dirk Kramers was designer and engineer for eleven America’s Cup campaigns, from the 12-meter era to the foiling catamarans of the 35th America’s Cup match in Bermuda. Along the way, Kramers won six America’s Cup victories on teams led by a slew of Hall of Famers, including Dennis Conner, Ted Hood, Bill Koch, Ernesto Bertarelli, Russell Coutts and Larry Ellison. .

Born in Hengelo, the Netherlands, but now also a longtime US national, Kramers’ Cup career began when he moved to Marblehead, Massachusetts to work for Ted Hood who designed, built and skippered INDEPENDENCE . In 1977 Kramers completed the mast, deck and fittings engineering on her and the other campaign boat, COURAGEOUS, which won the Cup that year.

Kramers started Hall Engineering, a subsidiary of Hall Spars, in 1980 for a 14-year tenure as managing partner, engineering hundreds of masts and structures. He developed rigging for FRANCE 3 in 1983, and in 1988 he won his second America’s Cup victory as designer of the soft-sail rig for Dennis Conner’s STARS & STRIPES catamaran. He earned his third cup win as chief engineer for Bill Koch’s AMERICA3 campaign in 1992, and he continued with the AMERICA3 women’s team in 1995 whose team captain was another promotion inductee. 2022, Dawn Riley.

He was a consulting engineer for challenger YOUNG AMERICA in 2000 before joining ALINGHI to take over a series of chief engineer roles. The Swiss team were the first challengers to win on their America’s Cup debut and the first team to bring the famous trophy to Europe (2003) and they successfully defended the Cup in 2007. Kramers in technically interesting projects was cemented with his sixth Cup. victory in 2013 with ORACLE Team USA and the transition to foiling multihulls. In 2017, Kramers continued his Cup career in charge of Ben Ainslie’s BAR Racing engineering team. Currently he is working on foiling electric motorboats, alternative concept sailing machines and various conventional sailing catamarans and monohulls.

Dawn Riley (United States) (born in 1964)

Dawn Riley had a long and successful career as an America’s Cup contender and manager. In 1992, she was recruited to join Bill Koch’s AMERICA3 defense team, and three years later was the captain of the women’s America’s Cup team aboard MIGHTY MARY. When the Cup moved to Auckland, New Zealand for the 30th defense in 2000, Riley hosted a challenge named AMERICA TRUE. His team qualified for the semi-final of a series of hotly contested races for the Louis Vuitton Cup. In 2007, she was the general manager of the K CHALLENGE based outside France.

Riley gained public exposure and valuable experience as a crew member aboard MAIDEN in the 1989-90 Whitbread Round the World Race. The team exceeded expectations and even won the toughest stage of the race in the Southern Ocean. Between her campaigns with AMERICA3, she skippered HEINEKEN in the 1993-94 Whitbread Race. In 1999, Riley was named Rolex Yachtswoman of the Year for winning major match racing and fleet championships.

Since 2010, Riley has served as executive director of Oakcliff Sailing, an organization dedicated to training American leaders through sailing. She is the third woman to be inducted into the America’s Cup Hall of Fame after Gertrude Vanderbilt and Lucy Jewett. Her persistent advocacy encouraged many women to spend more time on the water and own their own boat.

America’s Cup Hall of Fame Selection Committee

R. Steven Tsuchiya, President

Marguerite Bottini

John S. Burnham

Brad Butterworth

William Collier

German Brothers

Richard Gladwell

Jack Griffon

Halsey C. Herreshoff

Tim Jeffrey

Gary Jobson

Andrew John

Murray Jones

William H. Dyer Jones

John Lammerts van Bueren

Ken McAlpine

Elizabeth E. Meyer

Angus Phillips

Shirley Robertson

Hamish Ross

Bruno Troubled

Tom Whidden

Like this article ? Share it with others.

Comments are closed.