APBA Offshore National Championship Series season opener to 55 teams – and counting

Six days away from the first green flag for the season opener of the eight-race American Power Boat Association Offshore National Championship Series in Cocoa Beach, Fla., 55 teams in 11 classes had entered this afternoon. Registration for the event dubbed Thunder On Cocoa, which is exclusively online for all Powerboat P1 produced events this season, closes today at midnight (IS).

The 2022 Stock-class LSB/Hurricane of Awesomeness World Champion team of Brit Lilly and Kevin Smith will take on five tough teams in the season opener of the APBA series this weekend. Photos from Thunder On Cocoa Beach 2021 by Pete Boden copyright Shoot 2 Thrill Pix.

“Having 55 teams confirmed and paid for the week of racing is really exciting,” said Cole McGowan, communications director for Powerboat P1 USA. “I am pleased with the adoption rate of our new online registration, which has allowed us to more effectively plan their arrival this weekend.

“Teams have the added benefit of signing up early as it gives us and the industry media plenty of time to promote their presence which is good for their own sponsors and subscribers,” a- he continued. “Administratively, our focus has been on ensuring that all riders, accelerators and navigators have been cleared to race by a doctor and have provided the required information to the APBA. Our primary goal is to ensure safe and fun competition in the APBA National Championship.

Here’s a look at what’s happening this weekend:

• As expected, the Super Stock class will have the largest fleet in Cocoa Beach. The 11 teams on the Super Stock roster are: Ignite, PLC, Nighthawk Offshore Racing/Steele Industries, Playtradez, A GAME, Allen Team Lawn Care and Landscaping, Great East Construction, Jackhammer, CMR, Race off the Atlas and Nautical performance center.

With 11 teams entered including 2022 World Champions Myrick Coil and Rusty Williams at the Performance Boat Center, the Super Stock class will have the biggest fleet over the weekend.

• Class 1 has six registered teams—JBS-Racing, DeFalco Team, Huski Racing/Huski Chocolate, 222 Off Australia, Lucas Oil/E3 batteries and 345 Racing/XASSURANCE—while the Super Cat class has seven teams—Pro Floors Racing, CON M, Team 10, Graydel/CJ Grant Racing, WHM Motorsports, Offshore racing dramatized and SV race.

• While sun print and Boatfloater.com are the only two teams entered for the Mod V competition, there are six teams entered for its Stock V counterpart. They are: LSB/Hurricane Kindness, twisted V, NMB RV Resort, shock, Fast boy races and speed navy.

• Now an official APBA class, 450R Factory Stock will have two teams running MTI 390X catamarans in the mix, year two TS Motorsports duo of Taylor Scism and John Tomlinson and category newcomers Randy Keys and Bill Allen in KLOVAR Motorsports.

Bracket classes will also have good attendance this weekend with five teams in Bracket 700, five teams in Bracket 600, seven teams in Bracket 500, three teams in Bracket 400 and two teams in Bracket 200.

Thunder On Cocoa Beach never fails to deliver action, on and above the water.

Related stories
Celebrating Gary Goodell’s Life Event at Cocoa Beach
Registration deadline looms for Thunder On Cocoa Beach
Six UIM Class 1 teams ready for Thunder On Cocoa Beach

Comments are closed.