Race for over 150 boats at the Royal St. George Yacht Club Frank Keane BMW Regatta (results here!)

The finale of the 2022 seafront regatta season at Dun Laoghaire Harbor was presented on Saturday by the Royal St. George Yacht Club with its biennial Frank Keane BMW Regatta.

Around 150 boats across 30 separate racing divisions took part in the two-race program, although the IRC cruising program was interrupted by a lack of wind in the afternoon.

The Frank Keane BMW George Regatta closed the 2022 regattas at Dun Laoghaire, which started on June 12 with the DMYC Regatta and was followed a week later by the Davy NYC Regatta.

Some of the sponsor’s range of cars are displayed outside the Royal St. George Yacht Club on regatta day Photo: Afloat

After the disappointment of last weekend’s (25th June) RIYC regatta explosion, the big Royal St George event on Saturday 2nd July was eagerly awaited in Dublin Bay.

And bathed in July sunshine – and shunning some of the heavy showers that have hit other parts of Dublin – the country’s biggest yacht club did not disappoint afloat or ashore.

A packed shore schedule made for a great day of fabulous food, family fun and the excitement of racing on the water.

The Royal St. George Yacht Club on Regatta Day - 2 July 2022The Royal St. George Yacht Club on regatta day – July 2, 2022 Photo: Afloat

Among the racing divisions in Dublin Bay, the typical fleet size was around seven boats, but there were exceptions, the IRC One Cruisers having 14 and the Flying Fifteen One Designs having 11.

Light westerly winds with lots of out-of-land travel were forecast to present plenty of opportunity on the race courses in the northwest and north bay areas.

The first race for the cruiser divisions lasted two and a half hours, and with it came a lot of change in the standings, especially as the wind became very light as it approached the top buoy.

Well-positioned marks gave the boats strong, tight legs with plenty of gusts under the darker clouds.

Zero Cruisers

Royal Irish JPK10.80 Rockabill VI (Paul O’Higgins) had a new challenger in the seven-boat IRC Zero Cruisers division.

JPK10.80 Rockabill VI (Paul O'Higgins)Winner of Cruisers Zero – the JPK10.80 Rockabill VI (Paul O’Higgins)

First leader on the water in IRC Zero - Jonathan Nicholson's El Pocko is a 2004 41ft yacht, a German Frers Puma 42 Photo: AfloatFirst leader on the water in IRC Zero – Jonathan Nicholson’s El Pocko is a 2004 41ft yacht, a German Frers Puma 42 Photo: Afloat

Dan O’Grady’s brand new Cape 31 Aja of Howth debuted but couldn’t keep pace with the French design in the uneven conditions and finished second.

Dan O'Grady's brand new Cape 31 Aja from HowthDan O’Grady’s brand new Cape 31 Aja from Howth took second place in IRC Zero Photo: Afloat

Third was the winner of the National Yacht Club regatta a fortnight ago, Pete Smyth’s Sunfast 3600, Searcher.

Sunfast 3600 by Pete Smyth, ResearcherNational Yacht club researcher Pete Smyth’s Sunfast 3600 finished third Photo: Afloat

Cruisers One

XP33 Good Example by Colin ByrneWinner IRC One – XP33 Good Example by Colin Byrne Photo: Afloat

Colin Byrne’s XP33 Good Example won Cruisers One IRC fleet of 14 boats; the RIYC skipper beat Tony Fox’s National Yacht Club A35 Gringo.

A large fleet of ten J109s raced as part of IRC OneA large fleet of ten J109s raced as part of a 14-boat IRC One division Photo: Afloat

Third was Tim Goodbody’s White Mischief, the first of ten competing J109s.

Tony Fox's A35 Gringo from the National Yacht ClubSecond in IRC One – Tony Fox’s A35 Gringo from the National Yacht Club Photo: Afloat

Third was Tim Goodbody's J109 White Mischief Photo: AfloatThird was Tim Goodbody’s J109 White Mischief Photo: Afloat

Cruisers two

Norbert Reilly’s new Half Tonner Ghost Raider (ex-Checkmate) of Howth Yacht Club beat teammate Jonathan Wormald, sailing No Excuse to claim the Cruisers Two IRC crown.

Dick Lovegrove's Sigma 33 RupertDick Lovegrove’s Sigma 33 Rupert Photo: Afloat

Third, among the ten boats, the Dick Lovegrove of the Royal St. George sailed on the Sigma 33 Rupert.

Howth Yacht Club X-yacht No ExcuseHowth Yacht Club X-Yacht, No Excuses Photo: Afloat

Cruisers Three

Royal Irish Quarter Tonner Cartoon (Sybil McCormack) topped the Cruisers Three division. Myles Kelly’s Maranda finished second and Frazer Meredith’s Asterix third.

One-design keelboats

All seven Beneteau 211s were won by Peter Carroll’s Yikes ahead of Royal Irish’ Pat Shannon at Beeswing. The third was a former national champion, James Conboy Fischer, in Billy Whizz.

Michael Blaney's Royal St George 'After You...' won the Beneteau 31.7Michael Blaney’s Royal St George ‘After You…’ won the Beneteau 31.7 Photo: Afloat

Michael Blaney’s After You… of the host club led the nine Beneteau 31.7 boats. The second was Michael Bryson’s Bluefin Two of the National Yacht Club. Eoin O’Driscoll’s Kernach finished third.

Ken Dumpleton’s Flying Fifteen Rodriquez of the National Yacht Club took victory with a score of 2.1 in the fleet of 11 boats. In second place were Adrian Cooper’s Rockafellas with a 1.5 and third was Niall Coleman with a 4.3.

SB20 by Ger Dempsey Venuesworld.comGer Dempsey’s SB20 Venuesworld.com won on tiebreak Photo: Afloat

In a five-boat SB20 contest, Ger Dempsey’s venuesworld.com finished with three points, as did James Gorman’s Black, but the win was settled in Dempsey’s favor using the tiebreaker rule. Royal Irish Commodore Jerry Dowling finished third, counting two third places.

Irish national champion Dragon, Royal St. Geroge’s Peter Bowring’s Phantom, scored a 2.1 to lead the four-boat fleet ahead of Denis Bergin’s Legatum. Third was Ronan Murphy’s Serafina.

Ruffian 23 Ruffles by Michael CutliffeRuffian 23 Ruffles by Michael CutliffePhoto: Afloat

Two wins from two races made Michael Cutliffe, sailing Ruffles, the winner of a fleet of seven Ruffian 23 boats beating Brendan Duffy at Carmen. The third was the national champion boat Bandit, entered by Brian Cullen.

Keelboat Glen One DesignGlen One Design Keelboat Race in Dublin Bay Photo: Afloat

Ailbe Millerick’s restored Glenluce has won the Glen One Design fleet of seven keelboats. The second was Pterodactyl (David and Roddy McCaffrey). Brian Denham finished third at Glendun.

In the seven-boat Shipman class, John and Neill Masterson’s Curraglas won David Freeman’s Twocan. Fergus Mason’s Viking took third place.

In the restored Dublin Bay 21s, Estelle de Fionan de Barra beat Tim Pearson while sailing Garavogue.


Just six weeks out from the World Championships on Lough Derg, a fleet of seven Fireball boats contested the Royal St. George Regatta, and the club’s Louise Mc Kenna won the overall standings, beating Frank Miller’s Ballderdash in the tie- break. Third was current DBSC series leader Neil Colin in Elevation, counting two third place finishes.

Royal St. George’s Theo Lyttle was the winner of teammate Ross O’Leary’s eight-boat ILCA 7/Laser fleet. The third was Sean Bowden. In the ILCA 6/Radial ten-boat division, Brendan Brendan won by
Judy O’Beirne with Mary Chambers in third.

The five-boat RS Aero class was won convincingly by Royal St. George’s Brendan Foley sailing Minty with two firsts. Damien Dion finished second at Apero. Third was Stephen Oram.

The IDRA 14 dinghies took the first three places in the fleet of six PY dinghies. Pierre Long’s Dart had two wins from Brian Murphy at Diane. Third was John Fitzgerald sailing on Doody.

The Water Wag Regatta race, held last Wednesday, was won by Cathy Mac Aleavey, as Afloat reported here.

2022 Royal St. George Yacht Club Frank Keane Regatta Results

Comments are closed.