Something to look forward to –


Sydney sailors are eagerly awaiting the news of the end of the Sydney lockdown and after a forced four-month hiatus in yacht races there is now a light on the horizon.

Middle Harbor Yacht Club announced the first major keelboat regatta of the season – the Sydney Short Ocean Racing Championship (SSORC) in November 27 and 28.

It will be the 44e unfolding of the event which annually attracts Sydney’s top IRC racing yachts. The results are calculated on IRC, ORC and PHS handicaps, with the addition of TPR for the TP52 fleet.

In 2021, the Sydney 38 class is looking to kick off its season with a strong SSORC fleet.

Conspiracy of David Hudson and Peter Byford of RPAYC is the 2020 Australian Champion and won the Sydney 38 division of the Sydney Harbor Regatta last year. Risk by Chris Heraghty, Mondo by Lisa Callaghan, Thirlmere by Mike Logan, Shine On by Phil Herscovic and Advanced Philosophy by Peter Sorensen are among the teams that would like to end the domination of Conspiracy.

Win the Sydney 38 plot. Pic – Tilly Lock

Unable to compete last year, MHYC’s Bob Cox looks forward to the Division 1 IRC race with his DK46 Nine Dragons.

“We have a great group of people who participate in the SSORC and the Sydney Harbor Regatta every year,” said Cox.

“Soozal and Bushranger from Pittwater are fast and really challenge harbor boats like Nine Dragons, Khaleesi and Victoire. Beautiful offshore races and a reunion at the club make the regatta very pleasant, ”he said.

In 2020, Kieran Mulcahy’s Soozal won the regatta ahead of Bushranger (Gerry Hatton), while the other MHYC DK46 Khaleesi (Rob Aldis & Sandy Farquharson) finished third. In 2019, Darryl Hodgkinson’s Carkeek 40 Victory fought with Bushranger and Nine Dragons, Bushranger in the lead.

Bushranger on a kite track.  Standing spinnaker adjuster and kite trim.
Bushranger finished second in 2020. Pic – Andrea Francolini

IRC Division 2 also offers fierce competition, with Colin Gunn’s Jack Stening and Sydney 36 Stormaway still on the podium. In 2020, Stormaway won the division ahead of Italia 11.98 Cicero of Mark Hellyer of RPAYC and Corum of Michael Rowe, the Mumm 36 of Manly.

The TP52s are also looking to get their crews back in shape after an inactive winter and spring. Gordon Ketelbey’s Zen won last year’s SSORC ahead of Andy Kearnan’s Koa and Sebastian Bohm’s Smuggler. For these crews in particular, it’s a perfect start to the preparations for the Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race.

Navigate zen upwind, crew leaning to the side.
Zen won the TP52 division in 2020. Pic – Tilly Lock

The SSORC is being held in conjunction with a Cruising Yacht Club of Australia Ocean Pointscore race on Saturday – either at Lion Island or Cape Baily. CYCA is supporting the race direction of the event with the Coastal Crossing Race followed by three ocean races on Sunday. The main race officer for the event is Denis Thompson.

On SSORC Saturday, the popular Seven Island Race is also held for mixed keelboats with a new route around the harbor islands east and west of the Harbor Bridge.

The Sydney Short Ocean Racing Championship Notice of Race is now published and online registrations will open soon.

For all information, including Notice of Race and Online Entry, see:

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.