The Star-Studded line-up returns to its roots for the RNZYS YTP Alumni regatta • Live Sail Die


We are inviting all current and past sailors, graduates, coaches, staff and volunteers together for a very special RNZYS 150th event this year, October 15-17, 2021, consisting of a weekend of racing, reconnection and a lot of fun.

Plans are well underway for what is going to be a brilliant weekend celebrating the 35th anniversary of the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron’s (YTP) world-renowned youth training program during our 150th anniversary with the squadron. After all of the recent COVID developments in Auckland, this weekend will not only be a great start to our summer of sailing, but a fantastic opportunity to reconnect with other former YTPs and create a platform to make new connections. between some of New Zealand’s best sailors – past, present and future.

The sailing component will start with a fun rum race / harbor race on Friday October 15th, which will be followed by drinks and food at RNZYS. Saturday will then bring you back to your roots, with the Elliott 7s hitting the water for a sprint race. On Saturday night we are planning a big party for everyone to get together out of the water. Put on your favorite regatta shirt, have a few drinks and remember the good old days with us.

Sunday gets more serious with a Super 16 knockout match racing competition, with bragging rights up for grabs and no doubt plenty of banter, followed by an awards show that afternoon to end a weekend. stellar end.

Photo: RNZYS

Craig Satterthwaite (YTP 1990-92), America’s Cup winner with Alinghi, Round North Island 2015 winner and former Volvo Ocean Race participant, is up to the challenge. However, he is most eager to “join old comrades I haven’t seen for a while” and return to where his illustrious sailing career began. Some of Satterthwaite’s fondest memories include winning Nutrasweet International Youth Match Racing in 1991 with Simon Dickey and Sharon Ferris, and meeting his wife Paula.
This sentiment is shared by Mark Christensen (YTP 1988-89), a three-time Volvo Ocean Race winner and California to Hawaii Transpacific Yacht Race record holder with Phillipe Kahn in Pegasus 50. He looks forward to seeing some familiar faces from back home after many years of sailing the world. His favorite memory from YTP was “an epic ride back a year from Kawau, including lots of colorful, good-humored advice from Harold Bennett.”

Megan Thomson (YTP 2017-19, PP 2019-21), the skipper of the 2.0 Racing Women’s Team, is very excited to “race against and meet a number of alumni who were before my time”. Thomson is thrilled that multiple legends are joining the event and the opportunity to be on the same start line doesn’t come every day. She is incredibly grateful for the opportunities RNZYS and the YTP have given her to “sail against a number of ladies who did YTP when they were young and have been sailing together for a number of years, some since the first National Championships of female keelboat 31 years since. “

“I hope that in 30 years my team and I will still be participating in major events, like the ladies we now admire.”

Robbie McCutcheon and his team – Photo credit: Andrew Delves

We are calling for entries now, so if you would like to participate, please register as soon as possible. We also encourage you to spread the word with your former YTP colleagues with whom you may still be in contact – the more the merrier!

You can enter a team of four for the Elliot 7 race on Saturday and Sunday. If you prefer a more relaxed race, take part in the Friday night race and you’ll be part of a team on a member keelboat. Entrance fees for both events include dinner on Saturday night, or dinner tickets can be purchased separately.

For more details and to participate complete the online form here

• Craig Satterthwaite (1992), Bart Bearda (1992), Andy Pilcher (1992), Nathan Williams (1992)
• Mark Christensen (1989), Simon Broown (1989), Chris Ward (1988)
• Jury Laurie (2003), Jury Greta (2005), Robbs Hielkema (2004), Hana Hielkema (2006)
• Carl Whiting (1998), Scott Beavis (1998), Tim Lidgard (1998), Mark Kroeninberg (1998)
• Celia Willison (2018), Charlotte Porter (2018)
• Megan Thomson (2019), Serena Woodall (2019), Anna Merchant (2016), Josi Andres (2020)
• Robbie McCutcheon (2020), Jack Frewin (2020), Sam Street (2020), Chester Duffett (2020)
• Carla Bennett (1988), Amy Mulcahy (1992), Kelly Mulcahy-Fong (1992), Paula Satterthwaite (1992)

We hope to see you this month for what is going to be a big party.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.