US Sailing convenes panel on death of Newport in Bermuda

Bristol, RI (July 1, 2022) – In light of the tragic incident at the 51st Newport to Bermuda Race, US Sailing, at the request of the race authority, convened a panel of experts to investigate the incident.

The panel seeks to find facts about contributing factors, including weather conditions, crew experience, safety rules and more, to produce a timeline of causal events and quantitative lessons learned to help make the the sport of ocean racing safer. US Sailing estimates the report will be completed in the fall.

Panelists include:

Greg Miarecki (President) is a member of the Chicago Yacht Club and the Storm Trysail Club. He ran hundreds of distance races in Lake Michigan, including 35 races from the Chicago Yacht Club to Mackinac. He served as race chairman in 2008 and 2009, the first being the 100th race at Mackinac, which drew over 450 boats to the start line. Greg served many years on the Chicago Yacht Club Flag and Board of Directors, including two years as Commodore in 2015 and 2016. Greg was one of the five founding Commodores of the Chicago Area Sail Racing Association and is currently president of the Chicago. Foundation of the nautical club.

Ed Cesare is a finance professional who is also a competitive offshore sailor. He has owned and cruised a Class 40 (double-handed) and sails regularly for several high-end programs. Sailing more than 100,000 miles offshore, Ed has raced the five greatest 600 miles in the world, including 18 races in Bermuda, as well as three transatlantic races. He is Commodore of the Storm Trysail Club, former Counter Commodore Overseas of the Royal Ocean Racing Club, former Commodore of the Norwalk Yacht Club and Director and Committee Chairman of the New York Yacht Club.

André Clouston is senior vice president of programs and services for US Sailing and is responsible for offshore, youth and adult programs, competition, education, race administration and information technology . Andrew brings a wealth of in-depth experience from an accomplished background in the sport, including thirteen years with Yachting New Zealand, the national governing body for sailing in New Zealand, most recently as Chief Operating Officer. Andrew’s past roles also include Appointed Surveyor and Regional Development Coordinator for World Sailing as well as Maritime New Zealand’s Director of Operations for the 36th America’s Cup. Andrew is a qualified keelboatman whose experience includes numerous inshore races as well as one design, match racing and cruising.

P. Leslie Crane is the former Commodore of the Royal Bermuda Yacht Club (2002-3). He has skippered 7 Newport Bermuda races and has over 40,000 miles of cruising experience, including three Atlantic crossings.

Matt Gallagher is president of the Offshore & Technology division of US Sailing. Previously, he was Chairman of the US Sailing Offshore Committee and a member of the Safety at Sea Committee. Matt was president of the Chicago Yacht Club Race to Mackinac and has organized numerous local, regional and world sailing championships. Matt has skippered ten Chicago Yacht Club races at Mackinac and has raced in the Great Lakes as well as in the Southeastern United States and Europe. He is a member of the New York Yacht Club, the Chicago Yacht Club and the Storm Trysail Club.

Captain Jonathan Kabak is the General Manager of Oliver Hazard Perry Rhode Island and Captain of SSV OLIVER HAZARD PERRY. Jonathan is an internationally recognized expert in maritime training and teaching under sail. Having sailed in command of vessels ranging from iconic tall ships to high performance racing yachts, from maritime academy training vessels to luxury motor yachts. When not involved in vessel operations, he is sought after as an instructor and program developer, specializing in STCW and Coast Guard approved training for commercial mariners, and as a moderator for US Sailing and World Sailing Safety at Sea seminars. Jonathan serves on the Board of Tall Ships America, where he is Chairman of the Ship Safety and Operations Committee.

Comments are closed.